School Logo

Mudeford JuniorSchool

School Logo

Mudeford JuniorSchool

House Points

House points

Close
  • Red 2850
  • Blue 3500
  • Yellow 2950
  • Green 3140

Whole School Newsletter April / May 2021

Dear Parents / Carers,

 

It’s lovely to see all the children back for the summer term. 

 

With the days getting warmer and the sun getting stronger, we would like to remind you that the children should bring a sun hat and sun cream if required (this will need to be applied by the children themselves during the school day).

 

Covid restrictions will continue to be in place throughout the summer term.  Staff within the school are testing twice weekly and safety protocols and procedures remain in place. To reduce numbers on site, can I please request that children arrive during their allocated slots so that numbers of adults and children on site can be safely managed.

 

Dropping off and Collecting children:

  • The school has been asked by parents whether they are allowed to wear face coverings on the school site if they so wish. We would encourage face coverings being worn by visiting adults whilst being on the school premises.

 

  • We ask that adults maintain two metre distancing from other adults, staff and children whilst on the school grounds.
  • We kindly ask that the number of adults collecting a child in the school is kept to a minimum thus reducing the number of adults on site.
  • Leaving the school site promptly when your child has been released by the class teacher.               

 

We ask children of 4TN to arrive no earlier than 8.30am, with the children lining up promptly at 8.35am.  We ask parents to collect the children of 4TN promptly at 3.05pm. The gate will open at 3pm.
 
We ask children of 4MR to arrive no earlier than 8.35am, with the children lining up promptly at 8.40am.
  We ask parents to collect the children of 4MR promptly at 3.10pm.
 
We ask children of 6GT to arrive no earlier than 8.30am, with the children lining up promptly at 8.35am.
  We ask parents to collect the children of 6GT promptly at 3.05pm.
 
We ask children of 6EN to arrive no earlier than 8.35am, with the children lining up promptly at 8.40am.
  We ask parents to collect the children of 6EN promptly at 3.10pm.
 
We ask children of 3BN to arrive no earlier than 8.45am, with the children lining up promptly at 8.50am.
  We ask parents to collect the children of 3BN promptly at 3.20pm.
 
We ask children of 3MW to arrive no earlier than 8.50am, with the children lining up promptly at 8.55am.
  We ask parents to collect the children of 3MW promptly at 3.25pm.
 
We ask children of 5ST to arrive no earlier than 8.45am, with the children lining up promptly at 8.50am.
  We ask parents to collect the children of 5ST promptly at 3.20pm.
 
We ask children of 5AD to arrive no earlier than 8.50am, with the children lining up promptly at 8.55am.
  We ask parents to collect the children of 5AD promptly at 3.25pm.

 

The Department for Education and BCP Local Authority continue to provide the school with Covid 19 updates and guidance on policy.  This includes the latest guidance on Residential Visits, where it is seeming more likely that the Year 6 Residential to Osmington Bay will go ahead in June.  With the potential easing of restrictions, Highcliffe Secondary School are also planning to invite Year 6 children to attend their Induction Day at Highcliffe on Wednesday 7th July. 

 

All activities in school will continue to be undertaken in year group bubbles, following our Covid 19 Risk Assessment.  After School Clubs have already commenced with Teamtheme providing clubs for Years 3 and 6 on Tuesdays and Years 4 and 5 on Thursdays.  Tennis clubs are run for Year 3 and Year 4 on Wednesday and Friday respectively.  If you require further information about these clubs, please contact the school office.  Athletics clubs, led by Mr Dan Moody, Schools Sports Partnership Manager for Christchurch, will be held throughout the second half of the summer term on Mondays for Year 5 and Fridays for Year 6.  Year 4 will be running a Games Club (a variety of indoor and outdoor games) after school on Mondays, finishing at 4.30pm and starting on Monday 10 May.  Further information will be sent by the Year 4 team. Year 3 will also be running a Games Club starting on Monday 10 May.  The first three sessions up until half term will be held on a Monday and following half term there will be four Thursday sessions, the final session is Thursday 1 July.  Again, further information will be sent out by the Year 3 team. All dates can be found on the calendar under the News and Events heading.

 

As part of the Covid Catch Up programme, the Government have released some funding into schools for additional tuition. The school will be using this money to invite selected children from year 5 and 6 to after school workshops.  Children will receive a letter if they have been invited to these workshops during the summer term.  Using this additional funding, the school have also been able to employ Miss Basson, who has been supporting the learning in Year 6 since January.  Miss Basson will continue to teach 6GT on a regular basis, allowing Mr Goodlet to teach groups of around 12 children from both years 5 and 6.

 

As I feel it is vital for the children to maintain their exercise opportunities, we will be continuing our PE/MFL Enrichment days during the whole of the summer term. The children will be taking part in extended PE sessions and Team Building/Problem Solving activities as well as Modern Foreign Language work with Mrs Skorge.

 

 

Dates for Enrichment days:

The children can wear school PE kit into school, with their Mudeford sweatshirt on top if they so wish, on these days.

Year 3 – Thursday 29 April, Tuesday 11 May, Thursday 27 May, Tuesday 15 June, Thursday 1 July, Tuesday 13 July

Year 4 – Tuesday 4 May, Thursday 20 May, Tuesday 8 June, Thursday 24 June, Tuesday 6 July, Tuesday 20 July

Year 5 – Thursday 6 May, Tuesday 18 May, Thursday 10 June, Tuesday 22 June, Thursday 8 July, Thursday 22 July

Year 6 – Tuesday 27 April, Thursday 13 May, Tuesday 25 May, Thursday 17 June, Tuesday 29 June, Thursday 15 July 
 

All up to date news can be found on the school website.

 

Dates for your diary:

 

Monday 24 May  - Parents Evening 4.00pm – 7.00pm

Wednesday 26 May – Parents Evening 4.00pm – 7.00pm

Monday 31 May –Friday  4 June - Half Term

Wednesday 26 May - Class Photographs

Friday 11 – Monday 14 June - Yr 6 Residential Osmington Bay trip  

Friday 18 June -  INSET day                                               

Week beginning 28th June - Internal assessments week for Yrs 3,4,5

Monday 5 July - INSET day

Wednesday 7 July - Year 6 Highcliffe School Transition Day

Friday 16 July - Year 5 Carey Camp trip

Friday 23 July – Last day of term (normal finishing time)

Thursday 2 September - Return to school for the autumn term

 

Regards

 

M Partridge

Headteacher

Top